The Prize 2017-11-28T15:22:20+00:00

The Prize

The Moskowitz Prize for Zionism was established by Dr. Irving z”l and Cherna Moskowitz as an expression of support for people who put Zionism into action in today’s Israeli society, acting for the benefit of the common good in order to ensure the strength and resilience of the national Jewish homeland.

The need for this special prize arose from the feeling, shared by many, that the true Zionist heroes in today’s Israel – those known to the public as well as those far outside the public spotlight, both young and old – do not always receive the institutional recognition and public praise they deserve.

One of the traits shared by the Moskowitz Prize winners, and many of the candidates, is that each does not see themselves as an extraordinary person. Not as a hero, but as one who simply fulfills their duty, as an Israeli, to make Israel a better place – a safer, more just place, and at the end of the day – a more Zionist home.

Lion of Zion Award

Our Lion of Zion Award winners are Israeli men and women acting from a feeling of personal responsibility, vision and national mission, each in his field, and often while sacrificing their personal welfare and even endangering their personal security.

This award is for Israeli citizens, residents of Israel, who best personify modern Zionism in Israel in their actions addressing the challenges that face Zionism today – in spheres such as education, research, settlement, culture, defense and security.

Click here to nominate a candidate for the 2016-5776 Lion of Zion award.

Click here for recipients of the Lion of Zion  award.

Spirit of Zion Award

The Spirit of Zion is an award for new initiatives, young Israelis with vision who recognize the need to stand up and be counted. These are people who dream, our next generation of dedicated, creative citizens who have what it takes to make a difference for the Zionist dream to continue as a vibrant reality today.

Click here to nominate a candidate for the 2016-5776 Spirit of Zion award.

Click here for recipients of the Spirit of Zion award.

Prize Committee

The process: In order to choose the prize winners for both awards, a public committee was established, with advisors in various fields. The Prize money, over $100,000 annually, is divided among the award recipients each year and is distributed at our annual ceremony in Jerusalem.

Mrs. Cherna Moskowitz – Committee Chair
Prof. Moshe Arens
Rabbi Yedidya Atlas
Amb. Yoram Ettinger
Caroline Glick
Brig. General Avigdor Kahalani
Rabbi Pesach Lerner
Rabbi Daniel Moskowitz

Special Academic Advisor: Nobel Prize Winner Prof. Yisrael Aumann
Director: Ruth J. Lieberman
Prize Coordinator: Sarah Paley